Galvanised & cast components

As is also the case with cast metals, hot-dip or spray galvanised components exhibit a porous surface and therefore tend to outgas during the curing procedure. When dealing with conventional powder coatings, this can lead to increased formation of small blisters beneath the coating surface. The powder coating systems presented below reduce the gas pressure that occurs when the workpieces are heated and can prevent the formation of gas/air blisters.

Duplex procedure
So-called “duplex systems” combine galvanisation with powder coating. In addition to the decorative effect, the advantage of this procedure is that the galvanisation is protected against weather-related wear and chemical attacks. The zinc corrosion may be greater than 8 μm each year if galvanised steel components are frequently exposed to salty air or moist soil. When dealing with high corrosion protection requirements, the zinc cover should therefore be protected with a powder coating (Duplex process). This increases the duration of corrosion protection by between 1.2 and 2.5-fold. Duplex systems that consist of hot-dip galvanisation and powder coating are now also regulated by a standard thanks to the introduction of DIN 55633*.

Coat structure
Specially developed outgassing-friendly powder coatings from the IGP-DURA®vent range are particularly suited to single layer powder coat structures on porous metal substrates such as hot-dip galvanised steels. In addition to good adhesive strength and weathering ability, they also offer a proven corrosive resistance that corresponds to corrosion category C4-H in accordance with DIN EN 12944.
The Qualisteelcoat approvals of all IGP-DURAvent product groups support the metal constructors and the coaters in providing proof of permanent component protection according to DIN EN 1090-2 on supporting components manufactured from galvanised steel. 

In contrast, two-coat powder corrosion systems permit a freer selection of the top coat system (such as IGP DURA®face or IGP-HWF products in addition to IGP DURA®vent) on the one hand and, on the other hand, they significantly increase the protective effect.
According to the classification of DIN 55633, Annex A, the top corrosion category C5 I/M with a duration of protection of up to 15 years can be achieved with corresponding coating thicknesses.

The IGP-KORROPRIMER 10V primer is ideally suited for two-coat application system structures on galvanised steel and cast components. Powder coating primers with IGP-KORROPRIMER 10V prevent problems such as surface flaws caused by outgassing substrates and support a blister-free surface. Certificates are available here. Please also see Product Informationà IGP-KORROPRIMER.

* DIN 55633à Paints and varnishes – Corrosion protection of steel structures by powder coating systems – Assessment of powder coating systems and execution of coating

 

  • IGP-DURA®vent 51

    Weather-resistant coating system for application on exhalating substrates.

International IGP Locations
News

  • "Working together for one goal - that fits well with IGP".
    Laurent Duarte has been Head of Region South West Europe for seven years. The "self-made man" will retire at the end of next year and talks about his time at IGP in this interview. Laurent is sure that exciting times await his successor.
    > read more

  • Gaby keeps everything together
    Next year, Gaby Bärtschi will celebrate ten years at IGP. The qualified chemical laboratory technician loves smooth-running processes  and has a sharp eye for quality. Dull? Never!
    > read more

  • Give life more color. Let your ideas flourish.
    A shade of your choice, in dazzling hues, smooth or with the feel of sand or stone, plain or speckledà Powder coatings from IGP bring buildings, machines, and furniture to life – and create all the freedom you need to let your ideas flourish.
    > read more

IGP Pulverbeschichtung: Pulverlacke für Architektur, Industrie, Transport und Holzwerkstoffe

Verzinkte & Gussbauteile

Feuer-oder spritzverzinkte Bauteile weisen wie auch Gussmetalle eine poröse Oberfläche auf und neigen daher während des Einbrennvorganges zu Ausgasungen. Dies kann bei herkömmlichen Pulverlacken zu verstärkter Bläschenbildung unter der Lackoberfläche führen. Nachfolgend vorgestellte Pulverlacksysteme reduzieren den beim Aufheizen der Werkstücke entstehenden Gasdruck und können die Bildung von Gas- bzw. Luftblasen unterbinden.

Duplex-Verfahren
Sogenannte „Duplex-Systeme“ kombinieren eine Verzinkung mit einer Pulverbeschichtung. Der Vorteil liegt neben der dekorativen Wirkung im Schutz der Verzinkung vor witterungsbedingtem Abtrag und vor chemischen Angriffen. Wenn verzinkte Stahlbauteile häufig mit salzhaltiger Luft oder mit feuchtem Erdreich in Kontakt kommen, kann die Zinkerosion über 8 μm pro Jahr betragen. Für hohe Korrosionsschutzanforderungen sollte daher der Zinküberzug durch eine Pulverbeschichtung geschützt werden (Duplex-Verfahren). Die Korrosionsschutzdauer erhöht sich dabei um das 1,2 bis 2,5 fache. Durch die Einführung der DIN 55633* sind Duplex-Systeme, bestehend aus Feuerverzinkung und Pulverbeschichtung, nun auch normativ geregelt.

Beschichtungsaufbau
Für den einschichtigen Pulverlackaufbau auf porösen Metallsubstraten wie etwa feuerverzinkten Stählen sind speziell entwickelte entgasungsfreundliche Pulverlacke der Serie IGP-DURA®vent besonders geeignet. Sie bieten neben guter Haftfestigkeit und Bewitterungsfähigkeit auch nachweislich einen hohen Korrosionswiderstand ent-sprechend der Korrosionskategorie C4-H gemäss DIN EN 12944. Die Qualisteelcoat Zulassungen aller IGP-DURAvent Produktgruppen unterstützen den Metallbauer und den Beschichter beim Nachweis eines dauerhaften Bauteilschutzes nach DIN EN 1090-2 auf tragenden Bauteilen aus verzinktem Stahl.

Zweischichtige Pulver-Korrosionssysteme hingegen erlauben einerseits eine freiere Wahl des Decklacksystems (neben IGP DURA®vent auch IGP-DURA®face oder IGP-HWF Produkte), andererseits erhöhen sie die Schutz-wirkung erheblich. Gemäss Einstufung der DIN 55633, Anhang A, kann mit entsprechenden Schichtdicken die höchste Korrosivitätskategorie C5 I/M erreicht werden mit Schutzdauern bis zu 15 Jahren.

Für zweischichtige Systemaufbauten auf verzinktem Stahl und Gussbauteilen ist der Primer IGP-KORROPRIMER 10V hervorragend geeignet. Pulverlackgrundierungen mit IGP-KORROPRIMER 10V verhindern unter anderem Oberflächenstörungen durch ausgasende Untergründe und unterstützen eine blasenfreie Oberfläche. Zertifikate dazu finden Sie hier. Siehe auch Produktinformation: IGP-KORROPRIMER.

* DIN 55633: Beschichtungsstoffe –Korrosionsschutz von Stahlbauten durch Pulver-Beschichtungssysteme – Bewertung der Pulver-Beschichtungssysteme und Ausführung der Beschichtung

  • IGP-DURA®vent 51

    Ausgasungsfreundliches wetterbeständiges Beschichtungssystem für die Anwendung auf ausgasenden Untergründen.

Internationale IGP Standorte
News

  • Gaby hält die Fäden zusammen
    Im kommenden Jahr feiert Gaby Bärtschi ihr zehnjähriges Firmenjubiläum. Die gelernte Chemielaborantin hat eine Vorliebe für geschmeidige Prozesse und ein ausgeprägtes Augenmerk für die Qualität. Langweilig? Mitnichten.
    > mehr lesen

  • Dem Leben Farbe verleihen. Ideen entfalten.
    Ein Farbton nach Wahl, in schillernden Nuancen, glatt oder mit der Haptik von Sand oder Stein, uni oder gesprenkelt: Die Pulverlacke von IGP Powder Coatings erwecken Bauten, Maschinen und Möbel zum Leben und eröffnen Ihnen alle Freiheit, Ihre Ideen zu entfalten.
    > mehr lesen

  • Nachhaltig in die Zukunft
    Nachhaltigkeit und ein sorgsamer Umgang mit Ressourcen gewinnen bei IGP Powder Coatings immer mehr an Bedeutung. Deshalb haben wir uns zu Weihnachten etwas Besonderes ausgedacht. Wir wünschen Ihnen frohe Festtage und ein Gutes neues Jahr.
    > mehr lesen

IGP Pulverbeschichtung: Pulverlacke für Architektur, Industrie, Transport und Holzwerkstoffe